Thoughts of John

What is on my mind.

Twenty Days of Prayer: Day 20

Scripture

John 12.24 Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit.

Proverbs 17.3 The crucible is for silver, and the furnace is for gold, and the LORD tests hearts.

These passages describe a vital principle of spiritual brokenness.

Questions for Reflection:

Do you become defensive and run from God’s conviction and breaking? Have you settled into a spiritual “coast” zone? Do you resent physical or emotional hardships rather than embrace them as opportunities to more fully experience Christ? Have you been wasting your sorrows by not seeking God’s lessons within them?

Scripture

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. (10) For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Galatians 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

Questions for Reflection:

Have you actually placed greater focus on your training or natural abilities than deep daily cleansing and fullness of the Holy Spirit? Are you often guilty of being prepared mentally but not spiritually?

November 3, 2009 - Posted by | Bible, Bible Study, Biblical Interpretation, Christian, Christianity, family, God, Jesus, Life, marriage, Prayer, relationship, Religon, Theology

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

